Hit and Run Accidents
As if being in a car accident was not disruptive or frightening enough, being in a hit and run accident is even more overwhelming and stressful. All states consider fleeing the scene of an accident to be a crime. All drivers should stay at the scene of the collision, or their licenses will likely be suspended and their insurance rates will surely increase when they are eventually caught.
If you have had the misfortune of approaching your car, just to discover that it is badly damaged, or have been injured in an accident where the other driver fled the scene, you understand how much you can lose in one instant due to a hit and run accident. Call the personal injury attorneys from Roberts | Jeandron Law in Orange County today to schedule a consultation to talk about your case and initiate legal action against whoever caused your injuries and damages. You need expert legal help at this time, and we are standing by, ready to work on your case.
Understanding Hit and Run Accidents
A hit and run is an accident caused by someone who then leaves the scene without taking the time to exchange information with the other driver or ask the other people involved whether they are hurt or need assistance. In some cases, people leave because they have hit an object such as a retaining wall, tree, or even an animal. A typical example of a hit-and-run crash occurs in many parking lots where one car pulls out of their spot just to hit the vehicle behind them.
If you were involved in a crash, you should remain at the scene until the authorities have arrived and completed a police report.
Penalties Associated with Leaving the Scene of the Collision
California Vehicle Code § 20002 states that a hit and run accident is a misdemeanor with a possible sentence of up to 6 months in county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Additionally, if whoever causes a hit and run accident leaves the scene, they may also receive three years of probation, restitution for property damage, and two points on their California driving record.
Sometimes drivers make arguments in an attempt to avoid responsibility. For example:
They were not aware that an accident had taken place – They may try to convince someone that if there was an accident, they were not aware of it because the impact was insignificant.
There were no damages – They may try to argue that even though they hit something, there was no damage, so there was no reason to stay.
The only damages were to their own vehicle – They may claim that they accidentally bumped into your car but only their own car was damaged.
Locating a Hit and Run Driver
One of the most frustrating experiences for a driver is being unable to find the driver responsible for hitting their car. If you are in this situation, you should do the following:
Call the Police
While at the scene, call the police and wait for them to arrive and write a report. You will need to show it to your lawyer. The police may have ways to identify the driver.
Look for Witnesses
If there is anybody around, ask them if they saw what happened and are able to describe the make and model of the car to you. They might have seen the license plate or other identifying information. Get their contact information should you need to reach out to them in the future.
Ask Nearby Businesses
If the accident took place in an area where there are businesses close by, ask them if they have security cameras that might have recorded the hit and run. Waste no time in doing this since the recording capacity of their equipment may be limited and the footage you seek may be erased quickly.
Department of Motor Vehicles
If you are able to obtain information on the car who hit you, such as their license plate number. The DMV may help you obtain their name and address. The police can also help you in this case.
Get Legal Help for A Hit and Run
If you are the victim of a hit and run accident, you have a right to seek monetary compensation to cover your medical costs, the wages you have lost while taking care of your injuries, and funds to repair your vehicle or other property that has been damaged. The personal injury attorneys from the Roberts | Jeandron Law in Orange County will listen to you and fight for your rights every step of the way. Give us a call today to get started. We work on a contingency basis which means no out-of-pocket costs to you because we only get paid when we win. Call us today.